Making Lavender Water

Are there certain smells that arouse memories and emotions for you? It’s amazing how a scent can be embedded in your DNA. For me, lavender is a trigger scent. I am not sure I ever really smelled lavender until I studied in Southern France. The streets in my little town were lined with tourists shops filled with lavender and the country side was filled with lavender fields. Fast forward to my married life, we spend our honeymoon in Southern France so once again wonderful memories accented with sweet lavender.

Not all processed lavender gives the same pure aroma. Candles usually have added essential oils and lotions never get

I can remember taking this picture...I thought it was so funny that they hung their dungarees out of the window for everyone to see!!!

it right. Lavender should be a subtle scent. It shouldn’t overpower.  So I decided to make my own lavender water to give a little je ne sais quoi to my laundry!  2 cups of water, 3 tbsp of vodka (yes vodka…how could this go wrong…vodka makes everything better) and 15 drops of lavender oil.  Mix vodka and oil. Then add water. Seal in airtight container and let it rest for 2 weeks in a cool, dark location. So in two weeks, I’ll have a little piece of Provence right here in Gvegas!

You can try it for yourself with your favorite oil. What scents are memory triggers for you?

Leave a Reply

